I like what you’ve done with the place

We have moved.  The blog is now hosted on wordpress.com instead of my own server. The host name jags.wordpress.com was already taken, although apparently not used, so I am using martynplummer.wordpress.com instead.  It seems a little egotistical but it is at least a unique identifier.

I’m going to take the move as opportunity to expand the range topics covered in the blog. If you are only interested in JAGS topics then you can just view the posts in the category JAGS, or subscribe to the corresponding feed for category JAGS.

I was also inspired by Tal Galili’s lightning talk on the R-bloggers site at the recent UseR! 2011 conference to joint his blog aggregator. So now posts with the R tag will also appear on R-bloggers.

 

5 thoughts on “I like what you’ve done with the place

  1. Hi Martyn:

    Like the new blog! So, I was wondering if you want to cultivate some new JAGS developers. We have some Holmes-Held tweaks that we would like to try out. But, we’d need to see some C++ class documentation; or pointers to it whether wiki, doxygen, what-have-you. Thanks for JAGS!

  2. Yes I’m afraid that the glm module is under-documented. It is still a work in progress and if you have any ideas for improving it I would be very pleased to hear them. I chose to disable the Holmes-Held sampler in JAGS 3.0.0 because it is numerically unstable. I also have some ideas on how to fix this but they are not just tweaks. In their paper Holmes and Held discuss two different factorizations of the likelihood, each with their own advantages and disadvantages. I think there is a third choice which combines the best of both, but it needs some serious changes to the code.

    I’ll try to add some doxygen documentation to the headers in the glm module. In the mean time you can read Tim Davis’s book on Direct Methods for Sparse Linear Systems.

  3. Hmmm. I just double checked and apparently the Holmes-Held sampler is still available in JAGS 3.1.0. In any case, you should always use the latest version because older ones have bugs.

Leave a Reply

